Do Oats Have Gluten?

Gluten is a protein that is commonly found in products like barley, rye or triticale. Most people consume this protein without any trouble, but some with celiac disease or gluten intolerance may cause inflammation in the small intestines. These individuals will need to avoid consuming gluten. A small number of people with celiac disease may have sensitivity to oats, but in most cases it is safe for these individuals to eat small amounts of oats if they have not been contaminated with other gluten products. But do oats contain gluten on their own?

Do Oats Have Gluten?

Pure oatmeal will not contain any gluten, but many brands on the market today are not pure. Instead these oats have been cross-contaminated in facilities that also process barley, rye and wheat, products that do contain high doses of gluten. This cross-contamination makes it unsafe for people who require a gluten-free diet to consume these products.

Gluten-Free Oats



Bob’s Red Mill


Bob’s Red Mill produces steel-cut, quick-cooking and rolled oats that are guaranteed to be gluten free. This brand has been tested to be gluten free down to 20 parts per million. However, this brand also produces oatmeal that is not gluten free so it is important to read the packaging to ensure you have selected the proper version for your needs.



This brand offers gluten free oatmeal and oat products that also contain flax meal. Oatmeal is available in maple raisin, apple cinnamon, natural and banana maple flavors. It is available in specialty stores as well as online.

GF Harvest


This brand was founded as a family business that focused on offering products for those with celiac disease. To ensure the safety of their products, the fields and products are tested at three parts per million to ensure that they can maintain their Kosher, organic and gluten-free certifications. GF harvest offers gluten free regular and rolled oats.

Holly’s Oatmeal


This brand works to offer oatmeal that is as pure as possible, testing their products down to five parts per million. Online vendors as well as Whole Foods offer this product as well as non-gluten free products from Holly’s Oatmeal. Gluten varieties of Holly’s products include cranberry and plain flavors.

Montana Gluten-Free


Montana Gluten Free works with local farmers to ensure that all of their products are not cross contaminated. You can purchase 3 and 7.5 pound containers of this oatmeal in gluten free varieties from the company’s website.

Cream Hill Estates


This company produces Lara’s Rolled Oats, oatmeal that is specifically produced in a gluten-free facility and regularly inspected to ensure gluten safety. Cream Hill Estates also has a Gluten-free Certification Organization certification for gluten free groats and flour that test for under 10 parts per million.

Some people who have celiac disease also have sensitivity to avenin which is found in oats. It is approximated that 10-15 percent of people with celiac disease may have a sensitivity to oats as well, though some forms of oats are more likely to cause this reaction as others.

Those that are sensitive to gluten should test their sensitivity with a few spoonfuls of gluten free oatmeal to ensure that they will not react poorly to this food. Some research indicates that people become more sensitive to oatmeal over time, but presently there is no scientific evidence to back up this theory. If you are concerned about a potentially negative reaction, speak to your physician before you consume oatmeal. If you do develop any celiac symptoms while consuming oatmeal, stop immediately.

More Gluten-Free Foods





You should always check food labels to ensure that the products you are purchasing do not contain gluten.
Any grains can contain gluten, but buckwheat, amaranth, quinoa, corn, rice, brown rice, soy, arrowroot and flax tend to be gluten-free.
There are many gluten-free flours, pizza crusts, rice crackers, rice chips, almond meal, soy flour, bean flour, sago, cassava, taro flour, sorghum flour, cornstarch, guar gum, popcorn, tortillas, potato chips and cornmeal chips that are safe for consumption by those with celiac disease.



Most people replace the fiber they are missing from restricting their gluten intake by increasing their intake of fruits and vegetables.
Most fruits including guavas, apples, blueberries, acai, mangoes, dates, figs, kiwis, papayas, plums, cranberries, cherries, currants, lemons, mangoes, peaches, raspberries, strawberries and oranges are gluten free.



Vegetables that are known for being gluten free include avocado, arrowroot, beans, artichokes, Brussels sprouts, asparagus, garlic, mushrooms, cucumber, carrots, broccoli, beets, radish, peas, celery, eggplant, okra, lettuce, spinach and peppers.



Fresh meats tend to be gluten-free so long as they are not exposed to gluten during processing. Buffalo, chicken, pork, beef, duck, venison, lamb, veal and pork are typically gluten-free. Processed meats that contain fillers such as meatballs, hot dogs, meat loaf or fried chicken are typically exposed to gluten.

Dairy and Eggs


Like meat products, dairy products such as aged natural cheese, unprocessed milk, cottage cheese and yogurts are typically gluten free.
Eggs are also an excellent gluten-free source for essential amino acids that people miss by cutting out whole grains.



Other foods that are typically gluten free include macadamia nuts, hazelnuts, almonds, ciders, distilled liquors, wine, hominy grits, legumes, polenta, tapioca, potatoes, olive oil, butter, pure mayonnaise, ice cream, peanut butter and natural gelatin.

Same Category